• Hottest Natural Hair Braids Styles For Black Women in 2015
  • Latest African American Braids Hairstyles 2016 Ellecrafts
  • 30 Hairstyles for Long Hair | Hairstyles & Haircuts 2016 ...
  • Chin Length Hairstyles Page 2
  • Maggie Grace Short Curly Hair

Hottest Natural Hair Braids Styles For Black Women in 2015 Latest African American Braids Hairstyles 2016 - Ellecrafts 30 Hairstyles for Long Hair | Hairstyles & Haircuts 2016, Chin Length Hairstyles - Page 2 Maggie Grace Short Curly Hair

Provides a history of Black hairstyles, and discusses sanitation and preventing bacterial infections in the hair salon, different types of scalp diseases and disorders, and braiding and sculpting techniques

A beautifully illustrated heartwarming story that will build and enhance any young girl's self-esteem.

A modern twist on the classic hairstyle! From a Dutch Braided Headband to a Triple Fishtail Braid, DIY Braids will get you noticed! Featuring easy-to-follow instructions and helpful tips from popular beauty and fashion expert Sasha Coefield, this book shows you how to create one-of-a-kind hairstyles without ever stepping inside an expensive salon. Sasha shares all her secrets for creating and wearing her braided looks, including how to prep your hair, master traditional techniques, and enhance your look with fun accessories. Whether you're looking for a chic braid for your next shopping trip or a hairstyle that will really impress your date, this guide gives you plenty of gorgeous options for both day and night. Complete with step-by-step photographs so that you can get the perfect look every time, DIY Braids will have you saying goodbye to your hairdresser--and hello to fashion-forward braids at home in no time!

The Curly Girl manifesto is back, now completely revised, updated, and expanded by more than a third with all-new material. Created by curly hair evangelist Lorraine Massey—the go-to curl expert featured in Allure, InStyle, Lucky, Seventeen, and The New York Times; and founder of several curly salons and curly products in New York City—Curly Girl is the surprising bible for the 65 percent of women with naturally curly or wavy hair and a desire to celebrate it. Curly Girl is packed with unique and fail-proof hair-care methods, inspiration, and an empowering pro-curl attitude. It’s all here: daily routines for Botticelli, fractal, and wavy curls; Lorraine’s no-more-shampoo epiphany—handle your hair as gently as you do your best cashmere sweater; homemade lotions and potions. New to this edition: an illustrated, step-by-step guide to trimming your own hair (remember: it’s not what you take off; it’s what you leave on); a section on the particular needs of wavy hair; Lorraine’s Down-and-Dirty Curly Boy Routine; more fabulous ’dos for weddings and other special occasions; a chapter on multicurltural hair written by an African American specialist. Plus, updated information on green and chemical-free products, 20 new Q&As, and a DVD with tutorials on caring for four different types of curls. From now on, there’s no such thing as a bad hair day.

For fans of Johanna Basford's Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest comes a hip, gorgeous doodle coloring book about all things hair. Unlike other adult coloring books, which depict nature scenes and cityscapes, this title celebrates strong, confident women with a passion for style, design, and fashion. Revel in the mesmerizing patterns and intricate details of Andrea Pippins's delicate pen-and-ink illustrations, ready for you to color, complete, and embellish. Lose yourself in page after page of bold hairstyles and accessories, from rows of braids, to Mohawks, to sweeping updos, to cascades of ribbons and beads. Be transported to another world as you ink in Medusa's slithering coiffure, Cleopatra's elaborate headdress, and Marie Antoinette's towering bouffant. Perfect for experienced color-inners and newcomers alike. Coloring enthusiasts of all ages will love this empowering and stylish book. So go ahead--let your hair down, grab some pens or pencils, and add some color to your life. "Pippins's imaginative images will inspire your inner artist and fashionista." --The Huffington Post "The girl power stress-reliever we all needed." --Bustle

Two world wars, the Civil Rights movement, and a Jheri curl later, Blacks in America continue to have a complex and convoluted relationship with their hair. From the antebellum practice of shaving the head in an attempt to pass as a "free" person to the 1998 uproar over a White third-grade teacher's reading of the book Nappy Hair, the issues surrounding African American hair continue to linger as we enter the twenty-first century. Hair Story is a historical and anecdotal exploration of Black Americans' tangled hair roots. A chronological look at the culture and politics behind the ever-changing state of Black hair from fifteenth-century Africa to the present-day United States, it ties the personal to the political and the popular. Read about: * Why Black American slaves used items like axle grease and eel skin to straighten their hair. * How a Mexican chemist straightened Black hair using his formula for turning sheep's wool into a minklike fur. * How the Afro evolved from militant style to mainstream fashion trend. * What prompted the creation of the Jheri curl and the popular style's fall from grace. * The story behind Bo Derek's controversial cornrows and the range of reactions they garnered. Major figures in the history of Black hair are presented, from early hair-care entrepreneurs Annie Turnbo Malone and Madam C. J. Walker to unintended hair heroes like Angela Davis and Bob Marley. Celebrities, stylists, and cultural critics weigh in on the burgeoning sociopolitical issues surrounding Black hair, from the historically loaded terms "good" and "bad" hair, to Black hair in the workplace, to mainstream society's misrepresentation and misunderstanding of kinky locks. Hair Story is the book that Black Americans can use as a benchmark for tracing a unique aspect of their history, and it's a book that people of all races will celebrate as the reference guide for understanding Black hair.

THANK GOD I'M NATURAL is a must-read for any black woman who has suffered hair loss or breakage caused by relaxers -- or has grown tired of spending thousands of dollars and their entire Saturday afternoons frying their kinky tresses into submission. Full of personal tales -- of hair disasters and ultimate successes, THANK GOD I'M NATURAL offers thorough and extremely modern and up to date information -- and a plethora of tips to help women go natural the right way. Featuring the advice of celebrity stylists for Jill Scott, Lauryn Hill, and Erykah Badu (among others), readers will get ALL the information they ve always needed -- to look good on the outside and most importantly, feel good on the inside. You won t want to do your hair again until you ve read this lifesaving, reference book and heartfelt narrative from cover to cover!

Pecola Breedlove, a young black girl, prays every day for beauty. Mocked by other children for the dark skin, curly hair, and brown eyes that set her apart, she yearns for normalcy, for the blond hair and blue eyes that she believes will allow her to finally fit in.Yet as her dream grows more fervent, her life slowly starts to disintegrate in the face of adversity and strife. A powerful examination of our obsession with beauty and conformity, Toni Morrison’s virtuosic first novel asks powerful questions about race, class, and gender with the subtlety and grace that have always characterized her writing. From the Trade Paperback edition.

A stunning visual collection of more than fifty different braided hair styles, with detailed instructions and helpful photographs that show how to create them. From the big screen to the runway to the red carpet, braided hairstyles have never been more popular than they are today. Whether you want to sport gorgeous, complex twists, pull back your hair for workouts or the big game, or dress up for a wedding or formal event, The Big Book of Braiding has all the looks and instructions to inspire and show you how. Created with the renowned hair stylists at Björn Axén, the largest hairdressing academy in Sweden, this deluxe compendium teaches you how to create a diversity of styles, from a Dutch braid and fishtail, to a feather braid and ladder, to modern twists on such classics as the French braid and the side braid. Complete with simple, detailed directions and step-by-step full-color photographs, The Big Book of Braiding takes you from start to finish with everything you need to know—from the basics to more advanced styles, for a variety of hair lengths and types. With this easy-to-use guide, you can create hair magic with a few fabulous twists!

Unenthused by a white wedding gown and bored by the hoopla of the Hollywood-style reception, Ariel Meadow Stallings found herself absolutely exhausted with the nuances of traditional nuptials . . . so she chose to take a walk off the beaten aisle. In this updated edition ofOffbeat Bride, Stallings humorously recounts the story of the original offbeat wedding--hers--and shares anecdotes and advice from dozens of other nontraditional couples. She also includes a chapter on budget weddings in today's weak economy, along with sidebars, tips, tricks, and planner encouragement to help you figure out your special day. What results is a combination of hilarious wedding stories and tons of helpful how-tos--a perfect mash-up of memoir and handbook. At once practical and enjoyable,Offbeat Bride validates choosing the funky, different, and offbeat over the traditional, and leads couples through the planning process--from unique ideas on how to announce their engagement all the way to answering the question, "So, how’s married life?” Stallings is the ultimate guide to the alternative wedding of your dreams, and withOffbeat Bride, she brings you a book that serves both as an encouragement and celebration of aisles less traveled.

October 2017
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

Categories